The Fires of Growth

Let me preface my first post by saying, if you’re reading this, chances are you think this is another meaningless blog trying to start an argument about some controversial topic in modern Christianity. You’d be wrong! This blog is not about starting fights, offending people, or making them angry; it’s about edifying people, and encouraging them to grow. I’m starting this blog because I need to grow, and I hope that you will strive to grow with me. There will no doubt be times when controversial topics will arise, but it is my prayer that those topics will be handled with care so that no one will be offended or feeling like they’re being hated on.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

#MeltonForTheTruth seems like kind of a funny name for a blog, right? Yeah, I agree! So why did I choose it? I’m glad you asked, because I’m going to tell you! There are two main reasons why I chose to title my blog the way I did. The first reason is simple; it’s a corny play on my last name, Melton!

The second reason, and the main one, why I have chosen this title is because it speaks of the way God makes changes in our lives. You see, God doesn’t just magically change everything about us at salvation so that we are suddenly flawless and wonderful; that would be far too easy. If this were the way that God worked, our sanctification would be a “one-and-done”, after which we wouldn’t need God anymore. No, God burns us and melts us and molds us and proves us in the fires of trials, so that we are gradually transformed into something that is pleasing to Him. God is sovereign in choosing to work this way, because our sanctification is now a progressive event that keeps us dependent on God.

One great analogy is pottery. If you’ve ever seen a potter make a pot (click here for a video), you’ve got a pretty good picture of the way God works. A potter takes an ugly shapeless piece of clay, adds some water to keep things running smoothly, and by applying pressure he is able to shape the muddy clay into a beautiful pot. Afterwards, the potter will bake the pot in a fiery furnace to “prove it”. This proving process makes the pot strong. So it is with God. God takes an ugly shapeless sinner, adds some grace to keep things running smoothly, and by applying pressure he is able to make a beautiful Christian (Isaiah 64:8). Afterwards, God puts us through the fiery furnace of trials to “prove us”, just like he did with Daniel’s friends in Daniel 3. Of course, the analogy is not perfect because pottery is a physical change whereas sanctification is a spiritual change, but it at least gives a good picture of the way God works.

Another great analogy of sanctification is refining gold. If you’re familiar with mining at all, you know that when gold is mined, it is filled with impurities. In order to make the gold free of impurities, a miner will heat up the gold to temperatures over 1600 degrees so that all the impurities will burn up and only pure gold will remain. So it is with God. God often puts us through the fires of trials not only to prove us like a pot, but also to burn off all the impurities in our lives. Deuteronomy 4:24 and Hebrews 12:9 both describe God as “a consuming fire” that will burn off and eat up any of the impurities in our lives. These impurities can be sins, distractions, temptations, and pretty much anything else that keeps us from God.

The words aren’t flowing very well for me right now, so I’m going to wrap this up, but let me leave you with this: God’s process of sanctification is not one that ought to be feared or dreaded, but rather it ought to embraced with open arms. 

Here are some videos of hymns for your meditation:

A Passion for TheeHave Thine Own Way, LordGod’s Refining Fire

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. vcabr716 says:

    Count me in as a reader!
    I love the play on the name!!
    Excited to see how God uses this blog, Benj!

    Like

  2. Debbie Recker says:

    Awesome!!! I want to grow. Count me in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

